Books we’ve read this year

These are the books that I’ve read to K this year:

  1. A Christmas Carol – Charle Dickens
  2. The Westing Game – Ellen Raskin
  3. The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More – Roald Dahl
  4. Encyclopedia Brown Solves Them All – Donald Sobol
  5. Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
  6. The Hero and the Crown – Robin McKinley
  7. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain
  8. Treasure Island – Robert Lewis Stevenson
  9. The Hunt for Red October – Tom Clancy
  10. The Book of Three – Lloyd Alexander
  11. The Black Cauldron – Lloyd Alexander
  12. The Castle of Llyr – Lloyd Alexander
  13. Taran Wanderer – Lloyd Alexander
  14. The High King – Lloyd Alexander
  15. The Call of the Wild – Jack London
  16. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
  17. Band of Brothers (Chapters 1-5) – Stephen Ambrose
  18. Foundation – Isaac Asimov

We’ll probably finish “My Side of the Mountain” by the end of the year.  This list might not be entirely accurate as we might have read some of them last fall.  It might be more accurate to say “books we’ve read in the last 18 months”.

3 Comments on “Books we’ve read this year”

  1. Valerei says:

    Wow, he’s better read than most college graduates! I love that you are exposing him to so many classics!

  2. christy says:

    oo I wish I’d have read this before we saw you. Did you guys love the Lloyd Alexander books!! They were my FAVORITES when I was a kid. I would have loved to have talked Prydain with K. I’m waiting a few more years before my kids are a little older to read those to them, but they’re perfect for his age.
    how did he like Ender’s Game? I didn’t read that until I was much older.

  3. brock says:

    I forgot when I started Ender’s Game how violent it was in places. I remembered the language was bad because that’s where I learned a few swear words when I was slightly older than K is now. All that is to say that I did a lot of editing on the fly, but he enjoyed the book. When I told him earlier today that I edited out the bad parts, he said, “That’s why we finished so quick!”


Leave a Reply

