Provo or Orem?


Tell us why you voted the way you did in the comments.

9 Comments on “Provo or Orem?”

  1. I voted for Orem because that’s where I did my student teaching at Orem High school. It was a pretty good school and seemed to have decent students and staff. Of course that was ____ years ago! However, Brad and I both lived in Provo for some time and loved it too!

  2. kasey says:

    i have family that lives in orem and i love it there, as do they!

  3. Ali says:

    I vote for Provo! I grew up there – and I loved living so close to the mountains. Orem is more of a ‘great plains’ feel (in the microcosm of Utah Valley) – because it is in the middle of the valley. Plus, since you guys are such huge football fans, you can’t live too close to Cougar Stadium (Now it is Lavell Edwards Stadium – but it will always be Cougar Stadium to me). Are you going to switch allegiances – or just infuriate the neighbors with your University of Utah attire?

  4. Summer says:

    I spent most of my life in Orem and definitely prefer it to Provo. It just seems like a closer knit community I guess and has every store I need within a short radius. Plus it’s still close enough to the canyon for me.

  5. Scott says:

    Went to school there, as you know (yes they had electrcity back then!!). Lived in south Provo, lived in Wymount Terrace and later near center street on the west side. I know things have changed through the years. But when we went to visit Jer and Marcha, Jeanie and I did several walks around the “old” section of the downtown residential area (the Provo Tabernacle neighborhood). It still has such an “at-home” feel to us. My favorite parts of Provo are the tree streets (east of campus), Oak Hills area, and the Edgemont area. The demographics of a city changes as the neighborhoods grow up and grow older, so you have to look carefully at who is living in those areas now. Walking those residence areas is the best way to get a feel of who lives there. Schools are vert important. There is some revitalizing of some of the older areas, so consider that also.
    DAD

  6. Jeanie says:

    I voted for Provo…in fact I believe I was the first voter you received because after I voted your count was 100% for Provo. I say Provo because it’s Provo. It is the original, as far as I am concerned. I just love the feel of Provo and really like the blend of it with the university town. But I have no actual facts to base by preference on. When you are making a choice of where to establish a home and raise and educate a family you need facts, real information, not just sentiment and memories. I know the Kirwans will study the situation and prayerfully reach a decision. The Lord has been instrumental in your lives so far, I’m sure He will continue to guide and direct you in this most important decision.

  7. Jeanie says:

    I voted for Provo…in fact I believe I was the first voter you received because after I voted your count was 100% for Provo. I say Provo because it’s Provo. It is the original, as far as I am concerned. I just love the feel of Provo and really like the blend of it with the university town. But I have no actual facts to base my preference on. When you are making a choice of where to establish a home and raise and educate a family you need facts, real information, not just sentiment and memories. I know the Kirwans will study the situation and prayerfully reach a decision. The Lord has been instrumental in your lives so far, I’m sure He will continue to guide and direct you in this most important decision.

  8. BK says:

    I voted for both! hehehe 😉

  9. Provo, so you can live near me!! (a little late, but luckily you didn’t need my input. choose the right, that’s what i always say…)


Leave a Reply

