Free Comic Book Day 2009

The first Saturday in May is Free Comic Book Day. If you believe Hugh Jackman in the video below, then it’s an effort to promote literacy. The cynical side of me thinks that it’s an effort to get people into comic book stores.

Being the geek that I am, I couldn’t pass up a free comic book. So, I took the kids to the local comic book store this afternoon. I haven’t been to a comic book store since I was a kid, and yes, it is as geeky as you would imagine. L was fascinated with the super hero figurines (especially Wonder Woman). K gravitated to the Manga section and found a Pokemon book that he ended up buying. I wandered around and decided that these are not the comics that I grew up with (I couldn’t find a singe issue of the Avengers). They did give us free comics, though. They were all free-comic-book-day special edition (read: short) issues and mostly geared toward kids–titles like Archie, Disney’s Cars, and Kids Justice League. Not sure if this will become a yearly activity, but it was fun once.

Leave a Reply

