Give us a good read

There are 4,224 pages in the Harry Potter series.  This is relevant because we just finished reading “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” this afternoon.  K was more into the books than L was, but that was okay, because parts are too scary for her.  We’ve been reading the series for more than a year, so now we’re at a bit of a loose end as to what to read now.  I want to read him “The Hobbit”, but I think we might want to take a break from fantasy for now.  “James and the Giant Peach” is on the list (although I can’t seem to find our copy at the moment).  “My Side of the Mountain”, “Julie of the Wolves”, and “Island of the Blue Dolphin” are also potentials.  We’ve already read the Narnia series, “The Jungle Book”, “Stuart Little” and “The Wizard of Oz”, so they’re all out.  So, what was your favorite book as a child?  Leave us suggestions in the comments.

17 Comments on “Give us a good read”

  1. Mickey says:

    My favorites growing up were the Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander (The Book of Three, The Black Cauldron, The Castle of Llyr, Taran Wanderer and The High King). It’s still fantasy, but an excellent series.

  2. Emma says:

    The Chronicles of Prydain are excellent, as are the books in the Dark is Rising series, by Susan Cooper (also fantasy). Ian is really enjoying some of the Beverly Cleary books right now, such as Henry Huggins, Ribsy, Henry and the Paper Route etc. Charlotte’s Web is very good as are the
    Little House books (although they may be more suited to L’s taste than K’s). Happy reading!

  3. Graton says:

    Audrey and I have enjoyed reading the Henry Huggins books by Beverly Cleary as well. We also really enjoyed “Rascal” and “Wolf”, both by Sterling North. Again, perhaps more for L than K, Audrey has loved every book of the “All of a kind family” series by Sydney Taylor.

  4. Sam says:

    a new one that I liked (but haven’t read to the kids yet) is Alcatraz versus the evil librarians, by Brandon Sanderson. Very fun.

    http://www.amazon.com/Alcatraz-Versus-Librarians-Brandon-Sanderson/dp/0439925509

  5. brockkirwan says:

    I had forgotten about the Chronicles of Prydain. I think that K will get a kick out of the assistant pig-keeper. I think he’d like the Cleary books as well. They seem like they’d fit his particular sense of humor 🙂

  6. Whit says:

    The book I remember as a child L would probably enjoy more than K. It’s called “Mandy” by Juile Andrews Edwards. It’s about a girl who lives in an orphanage and discovers a place of her own. She also wrote “The Last of the Realy Great Whangdoodles.” I’ve never read it, but it sounds like a book K might enjoy.

  7. Summer says:

    Caddie Woodlawn by Caroline Ryrie Brink was my favorite book to read as a young girl.

  8. Emma says:

    I just thought of another series that I loved growing up – the Great Brain series by John D. Fitzgerald. Really funny books.

  9. christian says:

    is it time for the Ender’s series yet? if not, i remember reading tons of hardy boys. he may be into some Robert Louis Stevenson, like Treasure Island.

  10. brockkirwan says:

    Christian: We just read “Ender’s Game” for a book club in Young Men. I forgot how course the language was. In fact, I think that’s where I learned the word “bastard.” Treasure Island is on our list, though.

  11. christian says:

    book club for young men? are you sure you are not in the cambridge first ward?

  12. brockkirwan says:

    Yeah, book club. And it was their idea.

  13. Brad loves the Raold Dahl books — maybe try Charlie and chocolate factory, and the BFG. We have the Winnie the Pooh series and Laurel gets the very subtle humor — maybe something L might like too! Congrats on reading all 4,000 plus pages. That’s such a great undertaking.

  14. brockkirwan says:

    We actually started “James and the Giant Peach”. They got into it pretty quickly. L likes it too.

  15. Ali Harkness says:

    My Father’s Dragon is fantastic! It’s the first in a series of three. Definitely not as advanced as Harry Potter, but Will loved the books. (I was quite entertained myself!) Libby might like these ones – there are lots of pictures.

  16. Shauntell says:

    Hey guys. I thought I better stop lurking and actually comment! We are reading The Enormous Egg by Oliver Butterworth, the kids seem to like it. One of our favorite light reads was Chickens in the Headlights. You’ll laugh out loud! I love seeing that you are all doing great. Hope you’ll come visit us sometime in blogland!
    Loves, Shauny

  17. Matilda by Roald Dahl
    I liked Indian in the Cupboard books too, though I honestly cannot remember anything about them now.


Leave a Reply

