Cords

Cords, originally uploaded by brockkirwan.

A couple of years ago, the laptop that we had been using as the family’s main computer started to show definite signs of dying. Moribund, I think is the word. I prevailed upon my better half to get a Mac, specifically an iMac. One of the selling points was that with the all-in-one design, there would be fewer cords cluttering things up. Turns out, that’s not really the case. As you can see, we have a fair number of peripheral devices, and what seems like an insane number of cords.

I realize that there might be a couple of things we could do to remedy the situation, like get a combined phone & wireless router (the only reason for 2 is that Vonage gave us the wired one for free and the moribund laptop is still around and occasionally connect to the network). Other than that, though, I’m at a loss as to how to manage this mess.

So, I’m turning to you, wise and worldly readers. What solutions have you come up with to the spaghetti-bowl-behind-the-desk problem?

5 Comments on “Cords”

  1. scott gentry says:

    I need to send you a picture of my mess on he floor, behind the computer, to the right of the computer and then the keyboard, mixure, amp and cd recorder!! Your’s is very organized. Infact you give me the impression that you are Type A.

    S

  2. growingupkirwan says:

    Put it under the desk. Out of sight, out of mind.

  3. brockkirwan says:

    Yes, but therein lies the rub. The desk is in the living room. We’ve tried to keep the cords all behind the desk, but even then they’re always in sight (and in mind).

  4. MGK says:

    I am a little embarrassed that Dr. Kirwan has revealed our dirty little secret. Let me assure you that our cord mess is not a reflection of the other areas of our house (at least I hope not). I did put a long white board (our desk is white) about the length of the desk, behind the desk so you can’t actually see most of it looking straight on, but I find the profile view quite maddening…I can see it from the kitchen sink. We do appreciate any insight.

  5. nicole says:

    move the desk


Leave a Reply

