Why I never wear red nail polish…

  

Marital Rating Scale, originally uploaded by brockkirwan.

Now, if I can just get the seams in my hose straight, I am well on my way to being “very superior”.  This chart was developed in the late 1930s by George W. Crane, MD, PhD as a means for husbands and wives to evaluate their relationships. Apparently Crane was pretty scientific about the collecting these data.  The questions were taken from a poll of a large number of people (although the extra points reflect Crane’s own biases).  Note that the image is just the first page (lest you take the test and despair at only getting a 5).  Remember, extra points for being “jolly and gay”!

6 Comments on “Why I never wear red nail polish…”

  1. Valerie says:

    Are these weighted? Like, can I get enough points for “playing a musical instrument” to make up for “Fails to sew on buttons or darn socks regularly?” 🙂

  2. Julianne says:

    What’s the chart like for the husband? This is hilarious!

  3. nicole says:

    This is so funny! I don’t think I would have been able to “land” a husband in those days…

  4. sheri says:

    aahhh haa!!
    i found you!! i just talked with kasey and she told me where i could find you. love the blog and can’t wait to see more.
    i loved seeing all of your family last weekend, too!

    talk soon…

  5. Natalie says:

    I think I do everything in both columns, except for dressing for breakfast. Poor Mickey. This is classic, and made our night. We miss you guys!

  6. hahaha. i am soooo guilty of demerits 9 and 10. how did you find this?!


Leave a Reply

