Néni

So, it’s my last day in Hungary and I’m wandering around doing the tourist thing.  I was on my way to the “Terror House” museum, which is an amazing monument to the corrupting of power.  The building in which the museum is located was the headquarters for both the Arrow Cross party (the Hungarian Nazis) during WWII and the communist secret police after the war.  It’s really interesting as a history museum in itself, but it’s also quite sobering to think of the atrocities that were committed there.  That’s not really what this post is about, though.  This is a happy post.  Like I was saying, I was wandering around, on my way to this museum, waiting to cross a major thoroughfare.  While I was thus waiting, I saw out of the corner of my eye this little old lady crossing the side street over to the corner on which I was waiting.  She shuffled up behind me and said, “Please don’t take offense, but would you mind walking beside me across this street?  Please don’t be offended.”  How sweet is that?  After I helped the little old lady across the street, I snapped this picture of her surreptitiously.   

One Comment on “Néni”

  1. BK says:

    So, who was stalking whom?


Leave a Reply

