Gyakorló utca

When I was in Budapest, I happened to be in the area of my very first apartment on my mission, so I went back to the old neighborhood.  The neighborhood has actually taken a turn for the better with a few improvements.  Most notably, there is a mall now where the big bus station used to be.  I’m not sure if this actually constitutes an improvement as I’m opposed to the Americanization of the rest of the world, especially Hungary.  I did get a kick out of the fact that when I went into the mall I recognized the music they were playing as having been popular in Hungary 12 years ago when I served in that area.The apartment building we lived in is still there (somewhat surprisingly).  It was one of the 10-story pre-fab cement buildings pictured above.  The picture is a very rosy depiction of the place.  When I first set eyes on the place it scared me to death.  There are a series of factories just out of the frame to the left onto which our apartment windows looked.  In the gray of winter, it’s a pretty drab industrial scene.  I wouldn’t know what it looks like in the summer, never having really spent any time in Budapest during the summer months.  Anyhow, the building in which we lived was the kind of place where the homeless lady would take a ride in the lift just to have some privacy while she relieved herself.  I didn’t tell my mother these things at the time.  Come to think of it, I still haven’t told her this stuff.

One Comment on “Gyakorló utca”

  1. Scott Kirwan says:

    Well Brocko, Your Mother knows now.
    Great pics
    Hi kids
    Love Dad Kirwan


Leave a Reply

