Happy birthday to me

I had to cook on my birthday. Luckily, it was pancakes on the camp stove in William Heise County Park. We haven’t been camping since we moved to SD, so this was a lot of fun. The weather couldn’t have been better. The kids had a great time. We went with another family with kids about the same age as K and E, so everybody had a friend. M has a theory that camping was only invented for s’mores. Incidentally, the campfire was made out of a box of wood purchased from the local grocery store for $7/.8ft^3. I’m not sure what that works out to be in dollars a cord, but it seemed like a great deal for some guy with a chainsaw. dscf0610.jpg

On a related note, my in-laws sent me a framed collectors edition of the Star Wars USPS stamp set. It looks really good. I just need to find a place to hang it. I suppose it will go with my diplomas in the den…

UPDATE

Although we were coincidentally camping in the area just a day before they broke out, my cooking did not start either the Witch Creek or the Harris fires.

2 Comments on “Happy birthday to me”

  1. Julianne Heaps says:

    Happy Birthday Brock! Hope you had fun camping. I think camping was invented for children — it sure is fun to watch them in the great outdoors (there natural environment!).

  2. Summer says:

    Hope you had a great birthday Brock!


Leave a Reply

